CHENNAI (TIP): A general council meeting of the DMK here on January 9 unanimously reelected former Tamil Nadu chief minister M Karunanidhi as party president for the eleventh time.

The general council also reelected K Anbazhagan as party general secretary and Karunanidhi’s son M K Stalin as treasurer.

The month-long organizational polls covering party’s 65 districts have come to an end with the elections to the key posts.

The members erupted in joy by clapping hands and raising slogans in praise of the trio, when senior leader and party election commissioner Sarguna Pandian announced the election results.

Later, Karunanidhi announced the appointment of his daughter and Rajya Sabha MP Kanimozhi as women’s wing secretary.

To Advertise Call us @ +1 646 431 4064special-issue

Former PWD minister and DMK leader S Duraimurugan has been elevated as principal secretary, hitherto held by senior leader Arcot N Veerasamy.

Sarguna Pandian, V P Duraisamy, I Periyasamy and Subbulakshmi Jagadeesan have been made deputy secretaries.

The party has also announced Trichy N Siva and former telecom minister A Raja as its propaganda secretaries.

- Advertise Here Call +1 646 247 9458 -

Trending (48 Hours)

Volume 10 Issue 41 | New York | Oct 21

Print Edition ~ Digitally   Issue 41 ~ NYC ~ Oct 21  
- Advertise Here Call +1 646 247 9458 -