Visiting Parliamentarians Felicitated

LONG ISLAND, NY (TIP): At a special gathering held on 25th June 2013 here Mrs. and Subba Rao Anumolu hosted the Telugu Association of North America (TANA)’s felicitation of 12 Indian parliament members who were visiting USA. The distinguished group of parliamentarians included CM Ramesh (Andhra Pradesh), Shadilal Batra (Haryana), Bharat Kumar Raut (Maharastra), Bhubaneswar Kalita (Assam), Mrs. Poonam Jat (Gujarat), Mrs. Smriti Z Irani(Gujarat), Vivek Gupta (West Bengal), YS Chowdary (Andhra Pradesh), Harish Choudhary( Rajasthan), Modugula Venugopala Reddy(Andhra Pradesh), Ramesh Chandran (Kerala), and Badnore VPS (Rajasthan).

These parliamentarians had attended the Leadership and Management Training Program at Yale University in New Haven and upon the request of TANA attended the facilitation event in Long Island before their departure to India. Mohan Nannapaneni, President of Telugu Association of North America (TANA) welcomed the Parliament members and thanked them for attending the event despite their hectic schedule. Nannapaneni introduced the host, Rao Anumolu who has an outstanding record of professional achievements, philanthropy and community service which have been already being recognized with the highest honor and acclaim in USA. Vijayawada’s Anumolu is the President & CEO of Long Island (New York) based, internationally known, high tech firm – ASR International Corporation.

Anumolu is the only Asian Indian to have been cited by the US Congress for the contributions made towards homeland security in USA. He is also the recipient of the 2010 Ellis Island Medal of Honor. This prestigious award, highest civilian award for immigrants, recognizes recipients for outstanding contributions to their communities, their nation and the world. Both the United States House of Representatives and Senate have officially recognized the Ellis Island Medal of Honor and the recipients are read into the Congressional Record. Past medalists include six US Presidents.

Anumolu has the unique distinction of being the only Asian Indian to have the dual honor of being cited by the US Congress and also the recipient of the Ellis Island Medal of Honor. Mrs. Smriti Irani, on behalf of the group, expressed deep condolences for the flood victims of Uttarkhand, and the audience observed a moment of silence. The parliament members addressed the gathering and expressed their vision for India in the near future. They predicted that India would become a dominant contributor for world economic and energy development within the next decade. All the parliament members were felicitated by TANA, with a shawl and a memento. The reception to visiting parliamentarians was attended by many well known Indian Americans from various walks of life. Jayasekhar Talluri, Chairman TANA Foundation conveyed vote of thanks to the attendees.

- Advertise Here Call +1 646 247 9458 -

Trending (48 Hours)

Hate Crime Charges Slapped On Man For Throwing Drink On Sikh

Los Angeles:  Hate Crime charges have been filed against a 40-year-old man who racially abused a Sikh and threw a drink at him, mistaking him...
- Advertise Here Call +1 646 247 9458 -