Australia 186 for 3 (Clarke 74, Smith 56*) beat New Zealand 183 (Elliott 83, Johnson 3-30, Faulkner 3-36) by 7 wickets

Australia overwhelmed New Zealand to win the World Cup for a fifth time at an ecstatic Melbourne Cricket Ground.

New Zealand lost influential captain Brendon McCullum to the fifth ball of the match and were bowled out for 183.

aus_wins_smith_Reu_2356820gGrant Elliott resisted with 83, while Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Johnson and James Faulkner shared eight wickets.

Electing to bat first, New Zealand were dismissed for 183 in 45 overs against Australia in the ICC Cricket World Cup finals at MCG on Sunday.

The semifinal hero, Grant Elliot was the top scorer with 83. Taylor made 40. 

The Australian bowlers were up to the task right from the word go. Mitchell Johnson (3 for 30) and James Faulkner (3 for 36) were the pick of the bowlers. Mitchell Starc took 2 for 20, whle Maxwell took 1 for 37.

Australia rarely looked troubled, sealing a seven-wicket win in 33.1 overs, with captain Michael Clarke scoring 74 and Steve Smith 56 not out.

Clarke, in his final one-day international, was given a standing ovation by the record 93,000 crowd and welcomed by his team-mates on the boundary when he was bowled by Matt Henry with eight required.

He was part of the Australia team that last lifted the trophy in 2007, with this success extending their record for most World Cups won. No other team has more than two.

Australia’s win was the second in as many tournaments by a host nation after India’s triumph four years ago.