Indian American Professor of Dallas Community College Honored at ACCT Awards Gala

2015 William H. Meardy Faculty Member Award Suryakant Desai Dallas County Community College District, Texas

The Association of Community College Trustees presented Dr. Suryakant Desai of the Dallas County Community College District in Texas with the 2015 William H. Meardy Faculty Member Award during the ACCT Awards Gala.

“The ACCT Association Awards are among the most prestigious awards any community college, its trustees, presidents, faculty, or staff member can receive,” said 2015-16 ACCT Chair and Alamo Colleges (Texas) Trustee Roberto Zarate.

“In addition to these individual recognitions, ACCT annually recognizes an outstanding community college initiative whose purpose is to achieve equity in the college’s education programs and service, reflecting the association’s commitment to equity and diversity in higher education.”

“This year’s awardees have demonstrated a commitment to excellence and leadership, going above and beyond to serve their colleges and students,” said ACCT President and CEO J. Noah Brown. “ACCT is proud to honor these outstanding public servants for a job well done.”

Dr. Desai has been a full-time faculty member of Dallas Community College since 1984 and teaches Personal Finance and Introduction to Business courses. He holds a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from the University of Bombay, India; master’s degrees in professional accounting and in business administration from the University of Texas-Arlington; and a doctorate in secondary and higher education from Texas A&M University-Commerce. He is a certified public accountant (CPA) and a certified financial planner (CFP).

Full list of winners :