Harmanpreet Kaur (left) was named in ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year, while Mithali Raj (right) was named in the ICC Women’s Team of the Year 2017, Ekta Bisht (centre) emerged as the only Indian cricketer to feature in both the sides.

DUBAI (TIP): India captain Mithali Raj was named in the ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year while left-arm spinner Ekta Bisht was the lone cricketer to find a place in both the ODI and T20 teams of the year announced by the world body. Besides the duo, Moga girl Harmanpreet Kaur has found a place in the ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year. ICC announced the women’s ODI and T20I teams of the year with England’s Heather Knight named as the captain of the 50-overs side and Stafanie Taylor of West Indies appointed skipper of the 20-overs side.

The teams were selected taking into consideration players’ performances from September 21, 2016 to date.

Bisht, 31, from Uttarakhand is ranked 14th in the ODIs and 12th in the T20Is. She took 34 wickets in 19 matches and 11 wickets in 7 T20Is in the period under consideration.

ODI Team of the Year: Tammy Beaumont

(Eng), Meg Lanning (Aus), Mithali Raj (Ind),Amy Satterthwaite (NZ), Ellyse Perry, (Aus), Heather Knight (captain) (Eng), Sarah Taylor
(wk) (Eng), Dane van Niekerk (SA), Marizanne Kapp (SA), Ekta Bisht (Ind), Alex Hartley (Eng).
T20I Team of the Year: Beth Mooney (wk) (Aus), Danni Wyatt (Eng), Harmanpreet Kaur (Ind), Stafanie Taylor (captain) (WI), Sophie
Devine (NZ), Deandra Dottin (WI), Hayley Matthews (WI), Megan Schutt (Aus), Amanda-Jade Wellington (Aus), Lea Tahuhu (NZ), Ekta
Bisht (Ind).

Source: PTI

Be the first to comment

The Indian Panorama - Best Indian American Newspaper in New York & Dallas - Comments