Narendra Modi Takes Oath as Prime Minister of India for the Second Term

Amit Shah inducted into Cabinet

Narendra Modi takes oath as Prime Minister for the second time at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on May 30, 2019. Photo / Courtesy R.V. Moorthy

*  36 ministers sworn in for a second term

*  20 MPs take oath of office as cabinet ministers for the first time

*  24 cabinet ministers, ministers of state sworn in

*  Nine sworn in as MoS (Independent charge)

*  Smriti Irani, 5 other women in Modi government

NEW DELHI (TIP): Narendra Modi took oath of office and secrecy as the Prime Minister of India for a second consecutive term amid thunderous applause from a select gathering in the sprawling forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan,  May 30th evening.

President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath to Modi, 24 Cabinet colleagues, nine Ministers of State (Independent Charge) and 24 Ministers of State. The loudest cheer was reserved for BJP chief Amit Shah, whose induction means the party will have to elect a new president.

The event was marred by ally Janata Dal (United) deciding not to take oath even as party chief Nitish Kumar marked his presence by attending the ceremony. Among the allies, Lok Janshakti Party chief Ram Vilas Paswan retained his place in the Cabinet, as did Harsimrat Kaur Badal of the SAD.

Arvind Sawant, who defeated Milind Deora in South Mumbai, made it from the Shiv Sena quota. There was no representation from Tamil Nadu. Tamil-speaking Nirmala Sitharaman, who took oath as a Cabinet minister, represents Karnataka in Rajya Sabha.

Besides Shah, the new members from the BJP include Prahlad Joshi, former Chief Ministers Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank and Arjun Munda, while party’s UP chief Mahendra Nath Pandey makes a comeback into the Council of Ministers and has been elevated to Cabinet rank, as was Giriraj Singh, who was MoS (Independent Charge) earlier.

Former Foreign Secretary S Jaishankar was the lone surprise inductee into the Cabinet, becoming the second former ranking Indian Foreign Service officer to be drafted into the new team led by Modi. Modi has retained former diplomat Hardeep Singh Puri as Minister of State (Independent Charge).

Missing among the Cabinet ministers from the outgoing government were Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj. While the former opted out, Swaraj did not contest the polls, both citing health concerns.

Similarly, missing from the MoS (Independent Charge) list were Dr Mahesh Sharma, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore and K Alphons, while Manoj Sinha failed to make the cut as he lost the election.

The new Ministers of State include Nityanand Rai, Suresh Angadi and first-time MPs G Kishan Reddy (Telangana), Debosree Chowdhury (West Bengal) and Pratap Chandra Sarangi (Odisha).

PM Narendra Modi has dropped parliamentarians and key economic ministers in the previous NDA government like Suresh Prabhu, Jayant Sinha and Manoj Sinha. The name of Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore was also missing from the list of ministers who took oath.

Be the first to comment

The Indian Panorama - Best Indian American Newspaper in New York & Dallas - Comments